Repowering Questions/Advice

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Vince Luciani

Repowering Questions/Advice

Post by Vince Luciani »

Hello everyone,

After owning a 31’ Bertram for 8 years with old Detroit Diesel 4-53’s (many looonnggg canyon trips), I’m finally ready to take the plunge and repower. Those engines owe me nothing! They served their duty well and never let me down. If truth be told, I might have even been inclined to live with them if they weren’t so damn dirty. I’m fearful the Coast Guard is going to get me for oil discharge. My crew has nicknamed the boat the “Valdez”.

Anyway, I’ve decided on the factory remanufactured Cummins of the 300 hp variety. I’ve also decided to tackle the project myself. I’m a civil/structural engineer so I think I can handle the layout. Also, I have 2 cousins that will be helping me who are diesel mechanics, so I think we have a qualified crew.

I’ve been researching this project for years and have been collecting info from this site, as well as others, to try to prepare for the day that I decided to tackle this project. However, I still have a lot of questions. For starters, here are some:

•I have 1 3/8” diameter shafts and I intend to install 1 ½” diameter shafts. Will I have to replace shaft logs or can the existing logs be used? They appear to be in good shape. Will I need to replace the struts or can they be bored to accept the larger diameter shafts.
•What size props are recommended for 300 hp?
•Will I have to change the current shaft angle so that I can get the clearance required at the prop end? My boat is in the water and I can’t measure my current prop (18”x18”) clearance. But, I’m wondering if Bertram used the same shaft angle regardless of the power installed. It seems like the job would be a hell of a lot easier if you don’t have to get into replacing struts, changing shaft angle, etc.