cockpit re do

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

randall

cockpit re do

Post by randall »

when i worked as a finish carpenter my thing was simple as possible and no trim or exposed screws. so i tried to put the theory to my B25 cockpit. erased 40 years of hardware installation and wear. everything fits and about 40 screw holes disappeared. hard to get a good shot under my tarp A frame but...........

CaptMarkB

Post by CaptMarkB »

Boy is that pretty! Still in the ugly duckling statges of my 20 Bahia Mar restoration, gives me hope seeing such a beautiful boat.
In Memory Walter K

Post by In Memory Walter K »

Randall- Beautiful! So much so, any dirt will drive you nuts. Install a washdown pump while you're still on dry land. You,ll be glad you did. Mark B-Where on LI are you restoring your B-20 Bahia Mar?
randall

Post by randall »

thanks...nah....i use the same system as tropic star. one less thing to break or wear out.
jspiezio

Post by jspiezio »

fantastic
CaptMarkB

Post by CaptMarkB »

I'm in Jamesport, but the boat was just taken to Ridge for a friend of mine to help re do some prior bottom repairs. The boat has been stripped down of all hardware, mechanicals, rails, windshield, interior, and wood (just a fiberglass shell left). After the bottom is done (over winter), I'm going to remove the cockpit sole and address the transom coring and stringers, as well as install a new fuel tank. Looking at the TODD polyethylene. Any opinions? I figure it's about a two year project. Got a lot of good advice from Patrick ref. fiberglass repairs.

Mark.
Jareb

Post by Jareb »

Beautiful job Randall! What wood did you use?
John
randall

Post by randall »

thanks....its a bunch of mahogany i had left over from a job in the 90s. redid the gunwales about 4 years ago. just did the paint this summer. the rod holders and screws under the hawse pipes hold it down.
ZeroCavity

Post by ZeroCavity »