Removing the battery for winter storage

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

pschauss

Removing the battery for winter storage

Post by pschauss »

One of the options on the winter storage checklist for the yard that I am using is to remove and store the batteries. I assume that the rationale for this is so that they will be fully changed in the spring. Is this really necessary. When I put my 1963 Austin Healey away for the winter in October or November I do not do anything special with the battery and she starts right up when I take her out in late March or April. I have been doing this with the car for more than 20 years. The car is stored in an unheated garage.

If it make a difference, I live on Long Island.

Thanks,
Peter Schauss
Water-Lou - B31 SF
Peter Schauss
Water-Lou
1978 B31 SF (BERG 1727M781-314)
Tony Meola

Re: Removing the battery for winter storage

Post by Tony Meola »

Peter

You will get all types of answers on this one. I remove mine and put them on a float charge in my garage.

At a minimum, you need to disconnect them. In fact that is in my contract with the marina. They must be disconnected.

I would charge them and then charge them again in the spring. If they are in good shape you should be good to go.

I had interstate group 31's and got 8 years out of them by pulling them every year, float charging all winter then I desulfate them in the spring. Will the new Deka's last 8 years , ask n
Me in 7 years.

So either way works as long as they are fully charged when put to bed.
1975 FBC BERG1467-315
Yannis

Post by Yannis »

What is easier, disconnect, remove and carry the batteries each season, and reinstall them back again, or, install a small solar pannel that keeps them charged all year round? On the boat. I have the fridge setting left on 1 so that there is also some little constant consumption.
1973 B28 FBC/2007 4LHA STP's - "Phantom Duck" - Hull "BER 00794 1172"
Tooeez

Post by Tooeez »