1988 54' Bertram

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

longfin

1988 54' Bertram

Post by longfin »

Hey I could use some opinions. I've been on this site since pretty close to the beginning, long enough to remember Uncle Vic way before Katrina ! I've owned my 31 since 2003 extensively refit the boat about 5 years ago and she has served us really well. My kids are grown up and I'm just beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel career wise, Private Equity group swooped in and bought my business and now life changes ! I have an opportunity to slide into a 1988 Bertram 54 that is super clean and has been maintained with an open checkbook. I hate to admit it but I have been looking at and passed up a couple Viking 53's both MAN powered with tired Iron. The Bertram has 12V92's that are mid life but maintained. We need the 3 stateroom layout at least my wife says we do. The boat is a beast and easily can top out at about 27 knots and cruises 20 no problem (burning an insane amount of fuel). It's configured to cruise and fish the West Coast and Mexico, great electronics, water maker, all the fun stuff. I've looked at a lot of boats Viking, Hatteras, Buddy Davis, even a Post. I never considered a 54 and I honestly don't know why, I guess other boats are just more aesthetically pleasing to me.
Navatech

Re: 1988 54' Bertram

Post by Navatech »

Assuming you're looking at non souped up engines (i.e. around 850 HP/engine assuming they're the TI version) you're looking at what are basically good engines... Albeit thirsty ones...

Parts are available (for a long time to come as there are literally tens of thousands of them still in use) and not crazy expensive...

Having said that, assuming you really need the 3 cabins there are other options... E.g. the Bertram 46' "Galley Up" version...
Tony Meola

Post by Tony Meola »

The 54 is probably one of the best sea boats ever built.