Soundown?

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

John F.

Soundown?

Post by John F. »

I'd like to insulate my engine boxes and wing panels this winter. It'll take me about 2 4'x8' sheets to do it. I was thinking of the one pound, 1" vinyl/foam. Does this sound OK? Is the best way to get Soundown to order it directly? Any suggestions or ideas appreciated.

John F.
CaptPatrick
Founder/Admin
Location: 834 Scott Dr., LLANO, TX 78643 - 325.248.0809 bertram31@bertram31.com

Post by CaptPatrick »

John,

Steve Moyer, (keysdisease), is the Manager of the Ft Lauderdale Soundown Location and will probably kick in a reply...

The main operation & factory is in Salem, MA and the material can be purchaed directly from them. Their website, with product info, is at http://soundown.com/AI.htm .

Br,

Patrick
scot

Post by scot »

John,

I ran across this site the other day. I have no experience with their materials but the site has a very cool audio example of a diesel engine be muffled by various products....neat.

http://www.glacierbay.com/insulation_ultradb_sound.asp
Scot
1969 Bertram 25 "Roly Poly"
she'll float one of these days.. no really it will :-0
Mikey

Post by Mikey »

Now there's a comparison that you can see (Hear) quite clearly. My question,
Is this the Soundown that UV and others have recommended for years or one of the other, possibly less effective items?
Soundown Barrier Composite Insulation (2.0" thickness, 2.3 Lbs/Ft.2)
Mikey
3/18/1963 - -31-327 factory hardtop express, the only one left.
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-Albert Einstein
keysdisease

Soundown

Post by keysdisease »

Hello Gentlemen,

Captain Patrick, thanks for the welcome aboard!

As mentioned my name is Steve Moyer and I manage the Ft Lauderdale branch of Soundown, main office and manufacturing in Salem, MA.