Hello(new to the board) Bertram 31 build

The Main Sand Box for bertram31.com

Moderators: CaptPatrick, mike ohlstein, Bruce

Joe E

Hello(new to the board) Bertram 31 build

Post by Joe E »

Hello, Bertram 31 members, new to the board (sandbox) want to say Hi and share a little bit about myself and my Bertram 31 project.
My name is Joe, 36 from Long Beach, California. I have a wonderful wife and 2 amazing boys. I am a firefighter/paramedic by trade but more of a jack of all, master of none. I am also a 100ton USCG LICENED captain. I have a pretty extensive background in carpentry (dad is a cabinet maker) mechanics (come from a family of mechanics) and most importantly West Coast style Island fishing. I grew up fishing the local waters here in So Cal and at the age of 19 bought my first boat, a 1968 20 foot Skipjack. Half way through its life with me, I did a complete restoration on her. After out- growing her, I moved up to a local boat builders 26 foot pilot house that we commercially fished for the last 6 years. At the end of last session I sold her to build a Dream. We had been looking for a boat for a few years prior to her sale and after always coming up short on the hull design or being out priced of a factory boat I decided to build what I wanted my way! We looked at a ton of boats and always came back to the Bertram 31 hull. After a year (took a 4 month break to finish one of my other projects) we are to the point shown in the pictures. I look forward to meeting all of you and getting to pick your brains on the Bertram 31, the knowable base here is truly remarkable. If anybody ever needs anything from the West Coast don’t hesitate to ask.